While researching, you will encounter a variety of literature source types, from Scholarly, which is often a requirement from the professors here at Rogers State University, to Trade, Popular, and Grey. So, is there a difference, and does it really matter? The short answer is yes and yes. Check out the chart below to learn what the differences are and why they matter:
| Criteria | Scholarly | Trade | Grey | Popular |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Includes |
Scholarly journals Academic books |
Industry-specific journals Professional association newsletters and magazines |
Theses and dissertations Government reports Conference papers and proceedings |
Newspapers Magazines Blogs Fiction books |
|
Example |
Journal of Sociology and Social Welfare: The Journal of Sociology and Social Welfare is a scholarly journal written by researchers and experts in a particular field to share ideas and research. Sources are formally cited in the text and include bibliographies at the end. Articles undergo a double-blind peer review process before publication to ensure that the quality and accuracy of the article is acceptable. |
Computerworld: Computerworld is a trade publication written for computing professionals. Articles are written by professionals or journalists who have experience in the field. At times, sources may be cited, but more often, they will be hyperlinked within the text. Content is reviewed by editors and working professionals. |
OpenDissertations (EBSCO): Created through a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs, OpenDissertations (EBSCO) is a free electronic theses and dissertation database offering access to more than 800,000 electronic theses and dissertations. These are works written by graduate students who have conducted extensive research in their fields. Grey literature may also include graphics and other ways of displaying information. Sources are formally cited in the text and include bibliographies at the end. These works will be long and heavily reviewed. |
The Wall Street Journal or The New York Times: Both the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times are newspapers written for the general public with the goal of informing, persuading, or entertaining. Some sections of these papers may be more business or lifestyle focused, but the writers may not be experts in the field in which they write. Cited sources are normally hyperlinked within the text. Content is reviewed by editors before being published. |
|
Content |
Research results and reports, reviews of research or books. Mostly text, may have black and white or color figures/photos, graphs, tables, or charts. Highly specialized, including specialized vocabulary and jargon that is readily understood by researchers in the field but not an average reader. |
Articles about a certain business or industry. Some text, photographs, some graphics and charts. Specialized language, including jargon that is best understood by professionals in the field, but may also be understandable to a handful of average readers.
|
Research conducted by a graduate student at the end of their Masters or Doctorate level program. Mostly text, may have black and white or color figures/photos, graphs, tables, or charts. Highly specialized, including specialized vocabulary and jargon that is readily understood by researchers in the field but not an average reader. |
Current events and general interest articles. Pages are usually glossy, containing some text with color photographs in an easy to read layout. General language. Articles may be read and understood by most people. |
|
Purpose |
To inform, report, or make available original research, promote scholarly communication, and advance knowledge. | To provide news, trends, or practical information and/or examine problems or concerns in a particular field, trade, or industry. | To present individual research findings in response to a question or proposition, or to disseminate research quickly or respond to a public issue. | To inform, entertain, or elicit an emotional response regarding current events and popular culture. |
| Tone | Specialized terminology or jargon from the specific discipline or field. | Specialized terminology or jargon used in the field or industry. | Specialized terminology or jargon from the specific discipline or field. | Entertaining, non-technical language. |
|
Author |
Scholars, professors, researchers, and professionals. Their credentials are usually identified. | Professionals in the field; maybe be a journalist with subject expertise. | Graduate students from a specific discipline or field. | Journalists. The author(s) may not be named. |
|
Audience |
Scholars, researchers, and students. | Business or industry professionals of a particular field, trade, or industry. | Professionals and researchers in the same field or industry and/or policymakers | General public. |
|
Review |
Usually reviewed and critically evaluated by a subject expert or board of subject experts (peer review). | Content is reviewed by editors and working professionals. |
Expert review differs for different kinds of grey literature. Many may not be reviewed at all. |
Content not evaluated by experts in the field; often published or produced by commercial organizations. Generally reviewed by staff editor |
|
Citations |
In-text citations, bibliographies, references, endnotes, footnotes. | Content may be evaluated by experts in the field; often published or produced by a trade association. | In-text citations, bibliographies, references, endnotes, footnotes. | May not have citations, or may be informal (ex. according to... or links). |
|
Advantages |
Usually evaluated by experts before publication. Often peer-reviewed. References point to further research on the topic. Author(s) describe methods and provide data to support research results. |
Timely coverage of industry trends. Sometimes contain short bibliographies. Shorter articles that are informal and provide practical tips and tricks. |
Can record findings in niche or emerging research areas. Can record research findings that produce null or negative results. May be more current than formally published research literature. |
Written for everyone. Timely coverage of current events and popular topics. Some have editors who fact check and approve the content before publication. |
|
Disadvantages |
Specialized vocabulary that can be difficult for non-specialists to read. Research and review process takes time; not as useful for current events and technologies. Scholarly journals are expensive and may not be readily available. |
Not peer reviewed, although author is usually a professional in the field. Use of specialized terminology may limit readability. Evidence drawn from personal experience or common knowledge not rigorous research. Articles may be biased to support an industry or company. |
May vary greatly in terms of quality. Not all grey literature material is subject to pre-publication review. It is best to use caution and make your own assessment for quality, reliability, and potential bias. May not be formally published. Reports may be posted to a government website, or a poster presentation may be given at a conference. It is important to consider the longevity of the resource. Something available online today may not be formally archived or available later. |
Articles selected by editors who may know little about the topic. Authors usually do not cite their sources. Quick deadlines mean content review is limited; Stories may come from other sources (ex. wire services) making it difficult to review the content. Published to make a profit; the line between informing and selling may be blurred. |
Credits: Content on this page was adapted from:
George Mason University's Library guide "Popular, Scholarly, Trade, and Grey Literature Sources"
University of Exeter Library's guide "Grey Literature: What is Grey Literature?"
University of Texas Libraries' guide "Popular, Scholarly, or Trade?"
Walla Walla Community College's Library guide "Research and Library Introduction"