LibGuides: Nursing Research: Finding Articles

Recommended Databases

This is a list of the most relevant library databases for conducting nursing research. Use the links to the left for tips on searching specific databases for the best results. If you find an article citation with no link to the full text article, you may request the article through interlibrary loan.

Primary Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,781 active full-text journals, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide selection of health and life sciences journal articles and book chapters featuring original research, insightful analysis, current theory and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for medical journals, providing full-text for a third of the database back to 1965. Indexing is available back to 1949.

Other Relevant Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. This is an excellent database to start your research.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles offers access to the complete electronic catalog of APA peer-reviewed journals, including over 200,000 full-text journal articles, giving researchers the ability to explore more than a century of trusted research across the full collection. Topics include basic, clinical, developmental, educational, and social psychology.

Additional Resources

Google Scholar
Search engine that searches the web for scholarly publications (primarily articles and books). The focus is on providing access to peer-reviewed journals that are available online from the publisher. Google Scholar can be linked to a university library's online resources, providing free access links.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases, including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. you need a full text article, send an email to ill@rsu.edu to request that RSU Libraries get the article for you through RSU's Interlibrary Loan Service.
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. Explore 450,818 research studies in all 50 states and in 221 countries.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Find clinical studies and systematic reviews. Systematic reviews are useful for evidence based practice because they evaluate evidence.
Turning Research into Practice (TRIP)
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.