Children's Literature: General Resources

This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.

The Children's Literature Center is part of the Rare Books and Special Collections Division at the Library of Congress. The website includes an extensive collection of digitized children's literature, available in full text.

The Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University is an an online database of abstracts of more than 5,000 picture books, and is an excellent resource for students and teachers who wish to find picture books on a specific subject.

Includes some award-winning online books and accompanying coloring books.

Illustrated by art students at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

For elementary and middle school students this collection contains fiction and nonfiction.

The Horn Book's website includes reviews of recently published children's and young adult books, interviews with authors and illustrators, and tips on how to use books in the classroom.

The International Children's Library is a joint project between the University of Maryland and the ICDL Foundation, and was founded with the objective of promoting a love of learning and reading for pleasure to children around the world. The project emphasizes the importance of making literature available to children in their native language. The library's collection is comprised of more than 4,000 digitized books in 61 different languages.

Historical children's literature

Videos of picture books read by actors from the Screen Actors Guild.