LibGuides: HIST 3243: Writing and Research for Historians: Library Resources

The Explore RSU Libraries box is a great place to start your research. It searches all of the libraries' resources including books/ebooks, article databases, government publications and streaming video. There are some primary sources in the library collection that can be searched here. Watch this short video to learn how to use this feature.

You can also search for scholarly articles through individual databases. The following databases are the most relevant for historical research. A full list of the libraries' databases can be find at the A-Z Database page.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. This is an excellent database to start your research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides high-quality full-text journal articles relating to nearly every field of scholarly study. This database specializes in historical content, with some articles dating back to the late 1800s. In most cases, the most recent one to five years are not available in full-text.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Premier online database containing more than 186 million pages and 287,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text journals, books and other published humanities sources from around the world. It includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full-text content, much of which is not available in other databases.
Project Muse Journals and eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use Project MUSE Standard Journals Collection to find scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Journals are from over 200 university presses and scholarly societies.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day. Coverage: 1980 - current

D General World History (All Except North and South America)
  DA Great Britain (England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales)
  DAW  Central Europe
  DB  Austria, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia
  DC France, Andorra, Monaco
  DD Germany
  DE  Mediterranean, Greco-Roman World
  DF Greece
  DG Italy
  DH  Belgium, Luxemburg
  DJ  Netherlands (Holland)
  DK Russia and former Soviet Republics, Poland
  DL Northern Europe, Scandinavia
  DP Spain, Portugal
  DQ Switzerland
  DR Balkan Peninsula
  DS Asia
  DT Africa
  DU Oceania, Australia, New Zealand
  DX  Roma (Gypsies)

E History (General America and United States)
  184.5-185.98 African Americans
  186-199 Colonial History
  201-298 Revolution
  300-453 Revolution to Civil War
  456-655 Civil War
  660-738 Late Nineteenth Century
  740-837.7  Twentieth Century
  838-887 Late Twentieth Century, 1961-

F History (Local U.S., Canada, Mexico, South America)

1-975 United States Local History
  691-705   Oklahoma
  1001-1140  Canada
  1201-3799  Latin America, South America