Before you can start any research on your topic, you must have some background knowledge of it. This will help you make a list of search terms and possible subtopics. Find a list of recommended websites, encyclopedias, and more below.
Provides full-text access to a growing number of reference sources in literature, history, science, health, and careers.
Through our website, ProCon.org, we serve as a non-biased information source for our users. We present sourced pros and cons of debatable issues, as well as a host of reference information relevant to those issues, thoroughly researched and compiled by our research staff and editors.
Wikipedia is a great starting point for background information, but don't cite it and use it as a source.
Reference sources, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great for gathering general information a topic. If you need definitions of words or concepts, statistical information, or background information, reference sources are a good place to start.
While most dictionaries and encyclopedias are credible sources of information, reference sources only summarize topics, and should not be used as a substitute for scholarly research. Some professors will not allow you to cite encyclopedias in research papers, so be sure that you understand the expectations of an assignment beforehand. Finally, be sure to choose reference sources wisely! Encyclopedias and dictionaries should be published by a credible source.
Principles of Physical Science by
Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of physical science. This helpful resource provides high school and undergraduate researchers with a solid foundation to begin their study of physical science. The volume begins with a helpful introduction to the field, followed by over 100 detailed entries. Entries range from 1-5 pages in length and include a detailed overview of the topic, written in clear, understandable language. Entries also include key terms, related fields and are further supplemented with photos, illustrations, charts, models and diagrams. Coverage in this volume is diverse, providing helpful guidance to the full spectrum of physical science studies, including: Properties & States of Matter Properties of Elements Chemical Bonding & Equations Gravity Force, Motion & Power Energy Electricity Magnetic Forces Heat & Termperature Nuclear Energy ... and so much more . This volume provides readers with the necessary information to learn about and fully understand the major concepts in physical science. This volume will be a welcome addition to science collections of all sizes.
Principles of Physics by
Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of physics. This new resource introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of physics. Entries are written in easy-to-understand language, so readers can use these entries as a solid starting-off point to develop a thorough understanding of this oftentimes confusing subject matter. This edition includes 142 entries ranging from Aberrations to X-rays. All entries are arranged in an A to Z order, making it easy to find the topic of interest. Each entry includes related fields of study to illustrate the connections between the various branches of physics, including acoustics, high energy physics, psychophysics, quantum electrodynamics, and nanotechnology; a brief, concrete summary of the topic and how the entry was organized; principal terms that are fundamental to the discussion and to understanding the concepts presented; illustrations that clarify difficult concepts via models, diagrams, and charts of such key topics as blackbody radiation, Bernouilli's principle, and Higgs boson; equations that demonstrate how to determine mechanical advantage, understand the ideal gas law, the fundamentals of quantum mechanics, and Einstein's famous mass-energy equation-E=mc2; photographs of significant contributors to the study of physics; sample problems that further demonstrate the concept, law or constant presented; and biography lists that relates to the entry. Entries range from one to five pages in length. Entries are arranged into easy-to-use subject areas. Salem Press' Principles of Science: Physics covers: - Absorption - Bohr atom - Light waves - Prisms - Ultrasound Principles of Physics back matter is another valuable resource which includes: The Standard Model; Nobel Notes; Nobel Prize Laureates; Pre-Nobel Notables; Physics Constants; Physic Laws; Glossary; General bibliography; and a Subject Index. This new resource is a helpful tool for students and researchers who are just beginning their study of chemistry and need a solid background of the key terms and elements in the field. A must for all high school and undergraduate science programs.