Political Science

Election Process

• Election Terms Glossary (Fair Vote)  
• Government 101: Elections in the United States of America (VoteSmart)
• Why do the media call races in US elections? (Associated Press)
• State Elections Resources   Election resources for all 50 states from the National Conference of State Legislature

Oklahoma

These are just a few Oklahoma government resources. Check out the Government Information page for more state government information.

• Oklahoma Election Results

  Results of Primary, Runoff Primary, General and Special elections. Includes all races for federal, state, legislative and judicial offices and for state questions. Results go back to 1907.

• Oklahoma Voter Registration Statistics

  The State of Oklahoma's official statistics on voter registration by county and political affiliation reported annually on January 15. Statistics go back to 1960.

• Oklahoma State Election Board

  Established under the Constitution of the State of Oklahoma in 1907, the Oklahoma State Election Board is the administrative agency for the conduct of state elections and the oversight of the state's 77 county election boards.

• Oklahoma Ethics Commission - Campaign Finance Reporting

Political Parties

National

• Democratic Party
• Republican National Committee

• American Independent Party
• Communist Party USA
• Constitution Party
• Green Party
• Libertarian Party
• Reform Party

Oklahoma

• Political Parties in Oklahoma -Oklahoma Election Board

• Oklahoma Political Parties -VoteSmart

Party Platforms

• Party Platforms (American Presidency Project) 1840-2020

Issues & Debates

• American Presidency Project (UCSB)

          Transcripts of primary debates beginning 2007; will include general election debates after they happen.

• Commission on Presidential Debates

          Text of debates for 1858, 1948, 1956, 1960, and every four years since 1976

• On the Issues - Extensive web site analyzing positions of all Presidential candidates as well as incumbent governors, senators and House members on a variety of campaign issues. Relies on their voting records but also includes position statements.
• ProCon.org | 2020 Election

           Includes compilations of where the 2020 presidential candidates stand on the issues.

• Face the Facts USA (GWU School of Media & Public Affairs)  Face the Facts "delivers provocative facts about big issues to help Americans debunk myths, hold better conversations, get involved, and make choices as smarter citizens."

Campaign Finance

• OpenSecrets.org - From the Center for Responsive Politics, a nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.
• Federal Election Commission (FEC) - An independent regulatory agency founded by the United States Congress to regulate the campaign finance legislation in the United States. Functions include: donor lookup; influence & lobbying; receipts and disbursements of Presidential and Congressional candidates. Search by candidate and year; then drill down to detail on individual contributors.

International

• Elections and Voting Data Guide: United States and International - Princeton University

  Data, statistics, media, and other resources on elections and voting, turnout, campaigns and nominations, electoral administration, and more, both in the United States and internationally.

• Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA)

  A repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.

• Election Guide

  Result totals for presidential, parliamentary, and (some) subnational election results for a large number of countries. Also includes voter turnout and government structure, by region and country, 1998-present

• Election Passport

  Provides free access to a dataset of constituency election results in over 100 countries and territories throughout the world.

• Elections Canada

  Provides free, open access to federal parliamentary election data since Confederation in 1867.

• Global Elections Database

  Provides information on the results of both national and subnational elections around the world.

• Psephos: Adam Carr's Election Archive

  Archive of worldwide electoral information, with election statistics from 182 countries.