LibGuides: Nursing Research: Nursing Research

Your Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

ctubbs@rsu.edu

918-343-7719

Subjects: Government, Health Sciences/ Nursing, History, Information Literacy, Justice Administration/ Legal, Political Science

This guide has been designed to assist students & faculty with nursing research. Use this guide to learn:

Which databases to use to find the best research and how to search effectively
How to conduct literature searches and find literature reviews
How to search for qualitative and quantitative research
How to find information on nursing theories and theorists

The Explore RSU Libraries search box on the library website searches all the library's resources in one place including books/ebooks, scholarly and news articles, streaming video, and government publications.

This is a list of the most relevant library databases for nursing research. If you find an article citation with no link to the full text article, you may request the article through interlibrary loan.

Primary Databases

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 520 journals indexed in CINAHL.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide selection of health and life sciences journal articles and book chapters featuring original research, insightful analysis, current theory and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for medical journals, providing full-text for a third of the database back to 1965. Indexing is available back to 1949.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Other Relevant Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. This is an excellent database to start your research.
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles offers access to the complete electronic catalog of APA peer-reviewed journals, including over 200,000 full-text journal articles, giving researchers the ability to explore more than a century of trusted research across the full collection. Topics include basic, clinical, developmental, educational, and social psychology.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health, and other medical disciplines. Over half of the materials are available in full-text.

AHRQ's National Guideline Clearinghouse

A public resource for summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. AHRQ is the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research, a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
NIH RePORTER
The Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool provides access to reports, data, and analysis of NIH funded research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH supported research. NIH stand for National Institute of Health.
Turning Research into Practice (TRIP)
Database for evidenced based medicine (EBM)
Cochrane Collaboration
This resource differs from the Cochrane Library. If you need a full text article, send an email to ill@rsu.edu to request that RSU Libraries get the article for you through RSU's Interlibrary Loan Service.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.

National Institute of Nursing Research
Nursing research from NIH.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Find clinical studies and systematic reviews. Systematic reviews are useful for evidence based practice because they evaluate evidence.