Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's Literature

Essential Databases for Children's Literature

The following databases index articles specific or highly relevant to education and literature.

Additional Databases

The following databases index some articles that are relevant to education and literature.

Database Crash Course

The academic databases listed on this page are excellent sources for magazine, news, and journal articles.  This guide will outline what you need to know to use the databases successfully.  For more detailed information on how to use RSU Library's databases, follow the link to the video tutorial on database searching at the bottom of this box. 

Choosing Search Terms

Before you begin your search, write down a list of search terms with synonyms that relate to your topic.  For example, if you are researching global warming, you might want to try both "global warming" and "climate change" as search terms.  Most databases will provide you with suggestions of additional or alternate search terms to use, which can return better search results.

Combining Search Terms

Two or more search terms may be combined in different ways to yield different results.  Use the operator AND to yield results that contain both search terms.  Use OR for results that contain either term.  Use NOT to exclude results that contain a specific term.     

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources

Academic databases index both scholarly and popular articles.  Thus,  it is important to know the difference between scholarly and popular sources. Scholarly sources are generally considered the "best" sources of information for academic research because they are written and published by experts in a particular field, and undergo an extensive quality review process known as "peer-review" before they are published.  Many databases, including the EBSCO databases, allow users to narrow search results to include only scholarly articles.  For more information on scholarly vs. popular sources, follow the link to Cornell University Library's Introduction to Research, or review the Information Literacy 101 LibGuide.    

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great place to find citations and abstracts for scholarly articles.  If you find an article that you need through Google Scholar, contact the library to find out if we have it available in full text.  If you need an article that is not available in full text through our library, you may request a copy through interlibrary loan.   

Google Scholar Search