Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology

This guide is designed to support RSU Students in the sociology major and taking sociology classes.

Film & Video Content

Film and Video Resources

  • Academic Video Online - A broad variety of video material with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. 
  • Kanopy Streaming Video - A collection of online streaming videos that includes thousands of award-winning educational films, documentaries, and theatrical releases from leading producers, such as the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, PBS, Kino Lorber, California Newsreel, and hundreds more. (Faculty selections only)
  • OverDrive Streaming Video - RSU Community selections for 2-week checkout via computer and tablet.
  • C-Span Classroom - Free video-based materials for history, political science, economics, and social studies instructors.

Current Event Resources

Current Topics & News Resources

  • Access World News Research Collection - Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Updated by 8:00 AM each day.
  • US Major Dailies - U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8:00 AM each day. Coverage: 1980 - current
  • Newspaper Source Plus - Provides full-text coverage of the world's major news content, including millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.