Before you can start any research on your topic, you must have some background knowledge of it. This will help you make a list of search terms and possible subtopics. Find a list of recommended websites, encyclopedias, and more below.
Reference sources, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great for gathering general information a topic. If you need definitions of words or concepts, statistical information, or background information, reference sources are a good place to start.
While most dictionaries and encyclopedias are credible sources of information, reference sources only summarize topics, and should not be used as a substitute for scholarly research. Some professors will not allow you to cite encyclopedias in research papers, so be sure that you understand the expectations of an assignment beforehand. Finally, be sure to choose reference sources wisely! Encyclopedias and dictionaries should be published by a credible source.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5-TR by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification This manual is a valuable resource for other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. The new DSM-5-TR is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling by
This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly and efficiently update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam.
The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference by
"This book contains much useful information, including professional practice, ethics, cultural considerations, assessment, and intervention. This will be a wonderful addition to the libraries of students and professionals alike... Score: 97 - 5 Stars " --Gary B. Kaniuk, PsyD, Cermak Health Services, Doody's Reviews Praise for the first edition "Marini and Stebnicki have compiled an extremely useful and practical counseling resource covering a variety of topics... U]ndergraduates, graduate students, and new counselors will find this a valuable tool...This unique volume is a great addition for college and university libraries...Highly recommended...." --Choice (Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2009) This award-winning, bestselling reference for professional counselors and graduate students is extensively updated and expanded to encompass critical developments that are immediately relevant to the counseling professions, including the 2014 American Counseling Association Code of Ethics, CACREP/CORE accreditation standards, the updated DSM-5, the Affordable Care Act, and many other important changes. It reflects the ongoing consolidation of a strong identity for professional counselors and the need to address mental health and other counseling concerns amid marked sociocultural changes. The only resource of its kind, it is an extremely useful guide for counseling students working toward licensure and certification as well as experienced counselors, counselor educators, clinical supervisors, psychologists, and social workers. The second edition offers a unique interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines and features contributions from over 110 highly regarded experts in counselor education, research, and practice. It is based on the core content and knowledge areas outlined by CACREP and CORE accreditation standards and disseminates, in 93 chapters, both contemporary insight and practical strategies for working with the complexity of real-life issues related to assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of diverse clients. New chapters address military and veteran health issues; evidence-based practice for training; counseling transgender individuals, partners, and families; counseling caregivers; social justice; and much more. In addition to being a quick-access resource for all counseling professionals, the second edition serves as a concise, accessible reference for graduate students preparing for certification and licensure exams. It features an expanded, comprehensive self-exam of 340 multiple-choice items based on the CACREP/CORE foundational content and knowledge areas for counselor education and training. New to the Second Edition: Updated and expanded discussion of ethical issues, including the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics Affordable Care Act and its impact on delivery of mental health services Coverage of DSM-5 Promotes an interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines Includes an expanded self-exam with 340 study questions for National Counselor Examination for Licensure and Certification (NCE) and Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE) prep New chapters on military and veteran mental health issues New chapters on evidence-based practices for counseling, social justice, and behavioral health and health disparities in the United States New chapters on counseling caregivers, children with psychiatric conditions, and survivors of natural disasters New chapter on counseling for wellness New information on complementary, alternative, and integrative approaches New information on counseling LGBTQ couples, partners, and families Key Features: Covers all key foundational content for CACREP/CORE-accredited programs within one volume
ACA Ethical Standards Casebook by
"This practical guide is ideal both for teaching future members of the profession about their ethical responsibilities and for reinforcing ethical competence among current professionals. We strongly recommend this book." Jeffrey E. Barnett, PsyD, ABPP W. Brad Johnson, PhD Loyola University Maryland United States Naval Academy Coauthors, Ethics Desk Reference for Counselors, 2nd Edition "Herlihy and Corey''s text boosts the reader''s ethical understanding leaps and bounds above mere reading of the ACA Code of Ethics. With multifaceted case study examples and an integrated approach to tackling ethical dilemmas, this book is a must-read for students, counselors, counselor educators, and supervisors." Shannon Hodges, PhD Michael Knight Niagara University Graduate Student, Niagara University ACA Ethics Revision Task Force Member The seventh edition of this top-selling text provides a comprehensive resource for understanding the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and applying its principles to daily practice. Each individual standard of the Code is presented with an explanatory case vignette, and a Study and Discussion Guide is provided at the beginning of each major section of the Code to stimulate thought and discussion. Common ethical concerns, with instructive case studies, are then explored in individual chapters. Topics addressed include client rights and informed consent, social justice and counseling across cultures, confidentiality, counselor competence, working with minor clients, managing boundaries, client harm to self or others, counselor training and supervision, research and publication, and the intersection of ethics and law. Chapters new to this edition examine managing value conflicts and the issues surrounding new technology, social media, and online counseling. The Casebook also contains an Inventory of Attitudes and Beliefs About Ethical Issues to assist counselors in developing a personal ethical stance. This eighth edition provides a current and comprehensive discussion of counselors'' legal and ethical responsibilities, an examination of state and federal laws as they relate to practice, and helpful risk management strategies. Attorney Nancy Wheeler and Burt Bertram, a private practitioner and counselor educator, offer real-world practical tips to help navigate professional risks while providing competent clinical care. New or updated topics include matters surrounding informed consent, current case law on duty to warn/protect and issues surrounding suicide in college/university settings, electronic records and ransomware concerns, and updates on state licensure board data regarding boundary violations. The authors'' legal and ethical decision-making model will assist counselors and students with processing their own legal and ethical dilemmas, and the ACA Code of Ethics is included as a handy reference. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website. *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org.
Psychologists' Desk Reference by
Fully revised and expanded, this third edition of the Psychologists' Desk Reference includes several new chapters on emerging topics in psychology and incoporates updates from top clinicians and program directors in the field. This classic companion for mental health practioners presents an even larger variety of information required in daily practice in one easy-to-use resource. Covering the entire spectrum of practice issues-from diagnostic codes, practice guidelines, treatment principles, and report checklists, to insight and advice from today's most respected clinicians-this peerless reference gives fingertip access to the whole range of current knowledge. Intended for use by all mental health professionals, the Desk Reference covers assessment and diagnosis, testing and psychometrics, treatment and psychotherapy, biology and pharmacotherapy, self-help resources, ethical and legal issues, forensic practice, financial and insurance matters, and prevention and cosultation. Chapters have been clearly written by master clinicians and include easy-to-read checklists and tables as well as helpful advice. Filled with information psychologists use everyday, the Psychologists' Desk Reference, Third Edition, will be the most important and widely used volume in the library of psychologists, social workers, and counselors everywhere.