Skip to main content

Biology

Resources for research and information in biology.

How to use Reference Sources

Reference sources, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are great for gathering general information a topic.  If you need definitions of words or concepts, statistical information, or background information, reference sources are a good place to start.  

 

While most dictionaries and encyclopedias are credible sources of information, reference sources only summarize topics, and should not be used as a substitute for scholarly research.  Some professors will not allow you to cite encyclopedias in research papers, so be sure that you understand the expectations of an assignment beforehand.  Finally, be sure to choose reference sources wisely!  Encyclopedias and dictionaries should be published by a credible source, such as a major university.  (Wikipedia is NOT considered a credible reference source, so don't use it!)  For more information about reference sources, follow the links below.    

Topic Overviews

 

Need some good background information on your research topic?  Search multiple reference sources at once in

Salem Press Online, http://online.salempress.com/home.do

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The following reference books are available in print through the Stratton Taylor Library. 

Cover Image of Concise Encyclopedia Biochemistry and Molecular Biology     Cover image of Dictionary of microbiology and molecular biology     Cover image of Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology     Cover image of Encyclopedia of life sciences     Cover image of Encyclopedia of molecular biology    

Cover image of Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Evolution     Cover image of Handbook of Bird Biology     Cover image of North of Mexico     Cover image of Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology     Cover image of The Dictionary of Genomics, Transcriptomics and Proteomics

  • Concise Encyclopedia Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | ISBN: 3110145359
  • Dictionary of microbiology and molecular biology | Call Number: QR9 .S56 2001 | ISBN: 0471490644
  • Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology | Call Number: QH540.4 .E52 1995 | ISBN: 0122267303
  • Encyclopedia of life sciences | Call Number: QH302.5 .E54 2002 | ISBN: 0333726219
  • Encyclopedia of molecular biology | Call Number: QH506 .C74 1999 | ISBN: 0471153028
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia: Evolution | Call Number: QH360.2 .G65 2011 | ISBN: 9781414486697
  • Handbook of Bird Biology | Call Number: QL673 .H263 2004 | ISBN: 093802762X
  • North of Mexico | Call Number: QK110 .F55 | ISBN: 0195057139
  • Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | Call Number: QD415.A25 O94 2000 | ISBN: 0198506732
  • The Dictionary of Genomics, Transcriptomics and Proteomics | Call Number: QH506 .K333 2009 | ISBN: 9783527320738